Posted by: Rad | February 21, 2011

Altogether ooky


Bramble wanted to mix drinks at a party, and with no birthdays on the horizon, I hosted a house party.  I clicked on Leia to get  Bramble to say hi, when I noticed she could name a drink after her.  She named one of the custom drinks she’s made after her – and Leia’s portrait picture shows up in Bramble’s skill journal next to that mix, which is rather cool.

Aww man, I thought that’d give me a person person plus plus for sure 😦

I then heard a huge rumbly noise, different from the earthquake noise, and thought I might have a meteor at last!  I didn’t – some disaster or other had befallen the criminal warehouse, but there was a whole tornado style cloud of smoke coming from it and it was rather cool.

With Pollo, GaGa, Quentin and Pepperoni mostly on free will these days, I finally get to tend to Gen 8 (and Mona and her stupid career).  Alley’s been a three star celeb for an eternity now – our attempts to get her in the paper keep failing.  I know the most likely way for her to advance is make celebrity friends… but… making friends is boring…

Seducing bouncers in the lift, though?  We’re all over that.

Hooray for the stride of pride!

Not that this got her in the papers.  The Bridgeport Daily is clearly of a higher moral calibre than the News of the World.

‘Hi I’m Alley Daye, you may remember me from such events as our woohoo in the lift.  Can I get into the bar?’

The lady bouncer upstairs was less willing to play ball.  Alley offered her two bribes, but no dice.  Seems you really do have to sleep around to get ahead in this city.

The family vamps finally got around to exploring the little vampire bar in the graveyard.

Puddle drank a Haemoglobin Shooter, with no noticeable mood effect.  Boo!

Alley drowned her sorrows at being rejected from the fancy bar with an Aristocratic Gimlet, also to no noticeable effect.

When Alley was blowing cotton candy bubbles, I noticed the funky star shaped ones for the first time.  Cute.

Pretty 🙂

The bubbles gave her a +18 3h sugar rush moodlet and the Band Slam she’s drinking here gave her a 5h +12 wide awake one.

Oooh, the banana bubbles are yellow 😀

Wow, that was prompt.  He’d just turned 89.

Oh yeah, I turned Pollo back to human.  Interestingly, his age was at 85 all the time he was a mummy, so he’s now younger than both GaGa and Pepperoni.

Puddle’s at level 8 in his career now and making some sweet sculptures.  Sadly we have to sell them, but when he tops it out I’ll be getting him to make them for keeps, I think.

Alley hoped getting fresh with one-star celebrity Lil Bling might up her celebrity status.

Yeah, it had no effect.

‘O hai Rad’s simself.  Drinking again are we?’

‘Screw you, Daye.  Don’t you have some celebrities to be schmoozing?’

‘You suck at being a celebrity!  Why aren’t you getting me enough points?’

I went to take Pepperoni to the graveyard and was pleased to see lots of Dayes out and about.

Hi Glenn!  How come you died but Brady, Leia and Quentin are all going strong?

I don’t think I’ve ever seen Suki’s ghost before.

Dammit, Alley, why do you always want to skinny dip with your close relatives?  We already learned it doesn’t get you in the paper.

Thindra asked us to experiment with vampish cuisine.  We’ve learned that eating normal food does not get rid of the thirst moodlet.  We’re yet to try plasma fruit in cocktails/nectar/food.

Eating garlic raw (we’ve not tried cooked yet)…

…gave Puddle an instant nauseous moodlet to add to the garlic breath one…

…and caused vomiting.

He promptly added inventing to his list of maxed out skills.

One of the aims of this legacy is to visit every lot. Thanks to the firefighting, private eye-ing, architectural designing contingent, we’ve visited all the residences, and we’ve done most of the community lots, but there are so many parks that we’ve not yet managed all of those, so I sent Pollo to one of the little parks in the post end of town.  It’s rubbish!  A few parking spaces and some toilets.

Everyone was still mourning Pepperoni so I sent them all out for a family drink.  Fury Red was there mourning someone or other…

Someone was propping the bar up as usual.

Puddle was thirsty so I set him to hunt.

One by one, all the non family members in the bar started to go infra-red.  I swear this never happened when Mona hunted.  Maybe it’s something that got fixed in the last patch.  Anyway, it is SO COOL.

I’m not entirely sure what Fury Red is trying to do to GaGa here…

I couldn’t find out who was the prey, and they all stopped being infra red, so I just had him drink from some random bloke.

And then I got this moodlet.  New!

GaGa suddenly rolled this up.

I can’t be sure, but I think it was around the time that…

…Alley rolled up this.

Seriously, what kind of screwed up world did you live in before you got into that time machine and came to join us, Alley?

‘I notice you’ve had the ‘retire’ request I made a while ago selected for me for some time now.  Isn’t it about time you fulfilled my desires?’

Nope, I didn’t even realise that was there.  It’s getting replaced with your desire to become enemies with Alley.  That might be more fun, and besides, you owe me a parade.

‘Why, I oughta…’

Puddle and Mona played foosball.  No idea who won.  In their hidden skills stats, Puddle has level 6 and Mona level 2.  Not sure what that tells me, really, other than more experimenting with games is needed.

It was around this time that I started getting a whole bunch of pop-ups telling me some kid called Nadine was improving her handiness and inventing skills.  I was a bit confused, as I have NRaas Story Progression turned off for the Dayes and the stories just set to family.  I checked my settings to see if they’d changed, and nope, still set to family.

So I had a look around on the family tree…

Whut now?

Fortunately this isn’t quite as dodgy as it seems, as Brady was Mr Muscle’s best friend and therefore isn’t actually related to Scumbag (who is adopted anyway).  So essentially, this is less wrong than Alley’s many wants.

What is very weird, though, is that I never had a pop-up saying Nadine was born, and the skills pop-ups she got were the same ones I had when Vikram Populous was born, which would suggest she popped into the world fully formed as a child.

Oh man, I hope my game’s not going through some terrible glitching…

She has Einstein’s hair colour, which is weird, given she’s not biologically his descendant.

This is the one thing that worries me about the Dayes having simbot offspring – the meshes don’t really work for child sims, so when they walk, they go all stretchy.  It’s not a deal-breaker for making simbot babies, but I don’t really want the next however many generations of Dayes having this, either.

It must be the influence of all the sick-and-wrong-ness in the family at the moment that my mind immediately went to a certain place.  We’ll see if I follow through with it.

Adrian Mole is 256 now.  I swear he should be older than that.

Why are the other spares hanging around at the City Hall?

Because, finally, at 99 days old, Leia got to have a ceremony.

Sadly, her engine was so worn out she missed it – but she still got her key to the city, and that’s the main thing, right?

Join us next time to see if Pollo also gets a ceremony and to discover whether I let Puddle pursue Nadine.


Responses

  1. Oh boy Oh boy! So much happening! Yay on finally getting the key! 😀 Boo on not making it there though :/

    Rad Simself is like gorgeous 😀 Maybe Rat can be one!

    Nadine is super cute! And nifty, I thought the simbots weren’t able to have kids at all? Bernard hasn’t had any kids at all in my game, so I sort of got to that conclusion on my own x.x Interesting though! Shame on the meshes 😦

    Alley is one very weird kid O.O

    *hurries to offer cookies*

    • I know simbots can pollinate sims using Twallan’s mods, but them procreating without user assistance was new on me… it is very weird, given they’re not meshed right.

      My simself is a lot cuter than real! Rad! but has more of a drink problem 🙂

      • omg, I just read my comment and it cut away like half of it x.x I was going on and on about vampires and hunting and that rat could be one, cuz it looks so cool! *waves a fist at wordpress and then one at her keyboard*

        Yah! she is utterly cute though, so hopefully she will stick in cutehood growing up too!

        Oh prft! I don’t believe that, I bet you are gorgeous in real too ❤

  2. Yay! Well Done Rad.
    Story Progression is fantastic when you need to keep track of the extended.
    Shame about the celeb bar. Guess your fire fighter glitch has been replaced.

  3. Oooh better idea, use master controller to find out who the paparazzi are in the town, and go stalk them. Usually they take atleast snapshot.

    • The others have paps following them from time to time, they just don’t seem to like Alley! I love Story Progression, I just have it turned off for the Dayes for all but family stories because I like the Dayes to be as EA-ish as possible (and I don’t want their spares filling the hood too much).

  4. Hi!
    So I have to say, I read through all this in a rush the last days and you so much inspired me to blog one of my legacys! I just love the Dayes, so please, don’t dare stoping them at Gen 10. And now, for more addiction, I will go read your other blogs… which doesn’t leave me with too much spare time to play, but who cares…

    • Aww thanks! No, definitely not stopping until we run out of EPs and things to try, so it’ll be however many generations it takes. Let me know if you blog yours.


Leave a comment

Categories