Posted by: Rad | May 2, 2015

Back and forth

So Daye updates are like buses.  You wait months for one and then multiple come along at once.  Or at least two.  Last time we were together, Tofu crafted Cornetto, the Plumbob with no legs, to join Calippo (the one with the bucket head) and the family.

So Daye updates are like buses. You wait months for one and then multiple come along at once. Or at least two. Last time we were together, Tofu crafted Cornetto, the Plumbob with no legs, to join Calippo (the one with the bucket head) and the family.

We gave them both the capacity to love chip.  Here they are uploading their true feelings.

We gave them both the capacity to love chip. Here they are uploading their true feelings.

Aww.

Aww.

These bots move fast.

These bots move fast.

Like, super-fast.

Like, super-fast.

The new Mr and Mrs Daye, everyone.

The new Mr and Mrs Daye, everyone.

Let's not think too much about what they're getting up to in there and just marvel at the woohoo animation on the futuristic bed.

Let’s not think too much about what they’re getting up to in there and just marvel at the woohoo animation on the futuristic bed.

Woo, and indeed, hoo.

Woo, and indeed, hoo.

Whilst you can't make Pumbots have babies with each other, I did find you could instant baby them in Master Controller, so this is their son, Data.  (Data Daye is a name that tickles me as well as being a TNG nod).  He is a human sim so we're leaving him in Oasis Landing.

Whilst you can’t make Pumbots have babies with each other, I did find you could instant baby them in Master Controller, so this is their son, Data. (Data Daye is a name that tickles me as well as being a TNG nod). He is a human sim so we’re leaving him in Oasis Landing.

Oh please.

Oh please.

We sold Calippo and decided to come home.

We sold Calippo and decided to come home.

Only the portal kept screwing up and depositing strangers from the future into our yard.

Only the portal kept screwing up and depositing strangers from the future into our yard.

I was so distracted that I didn't notice Abigail and Manisha getting frisky.  Enough of this you two!

I was so distracted that I didn’t notice Abigail and Manisha getting frisky. Enough of this you two!

I sent Manisha and PgsFromCeefax on a romantic break instead...

I sent Manisha and PgsFromCeefax on a romantic break instead…

...To the future.  But then the game crashed :/

…To the future. But then the game crashed :/

When we got back I decided not to bother with that and have Pgs concentrate on his science LTW.

When we got back I decided not to bother with that and have Pgs concentrate on his science LTW.

Whilst I got Manisha to give the jelly bean bush yet another go.

Whilst I got Manisha to give the jelly bean bush yet another go.

I also had her try the jetpack out and fail to die.

I also had her try the jetpack out and fail to die.

Come on baby, you can do it.

Come on baby, you can do it.

OMG.

OMG.

I had to have her eat about fifty jelly beans in a row, but WORTH IT.

I had to have her eat about fifty jelly beans in a row, but WORTH IT.

Now go make purple imaginary friend ghost werewolf babies.

Now go make purple imaginary friend ghost werewolf babies.

Woohooing here didn't work for them.

Woohooing here didn’t work for them.

Nor did this.  Partly because they kept getting interrupted by people from the future.

Nor did this. Partly because they kept getting interrupted by people from the future.

I heard you can get a human-plumbot hybrid, but Cornetto could only try for baby with a female sim...

I heard you can get a human-plumbot hybrid, but Cornetto could only try for baby with a female sim…

...so I unstant babied a Cornetto-PgsFromCeefax baby.  Meet the first possible heir, Elsa.  She likes white and I don't know if she has any supernatural elements yet.

…so I unstant babied a Cornetto-PgsFromCeefax baby. Meet the first possible heir, Elsa. She likes white and I don’t know if she has any supernatural elements yet.

You wouldn't think Cornetto had the Robo-Nanny chip installed from this reaction.

You wouldn’t think Cornetto had the Robo-Nanny chip installed from this reaction.

Linda's (second) blog is still only 4.5 stars.  I hate this LTW.

Linda’s (second) blog is still only 4.5 stars. I hate this LTW.

Meanwhile, back with the seaside clan, Ice Pop maxed out her scuba diving skill and got a retro dive suit.

Meanwhile, back with the seaside clan, Ice Pop maxed out her scuba diving skill and got a retro dive suit.

She finds all sorts of lovely trinkets in chests, but NO MESSAGES IN BOTTLES which is the only thing she ever gets asked for when she looks for diving work.  I mean, seriously, she hasn't had one and she's meant to hand over four.  I read up on them and allegedly they spawn with shells but we've found dozens of shells and not a solitary bottle.

She finds all sorts of lovely trinkets in chests, but NO MESSAGES IN BOTTLES which is the only thing she ever gets asked for when she looks for diving work. I mean, seriously, she hasn’t had one and she’s meant to hand over four. I read up on them and allegedly they spawn with shells but we’ve found dozens of shells and not a solitary bottle.

She does get into the odd shark fight though.

She does get into the odd shark fight though.

Sometimes the shark wins.

Sometimes the shark wins.

We were trying everything to get the secret islands and still no joy.

We were trying everything to get the secret islands and still no joy.

We were beginning to think it was all a scam, so we had to read up on it.  Normally I don't like reading up for hints - I like to discover things myself - but how on earth would anyone have guessed how to get the islands?  We've now learned, so we'll show you one by one, but they're not exactly obvious.

We were beginning to think it was all a scam, so we had to read up on it. Normally I don’t like reading up for hints – I like to discover things myself – but how on earth would anyone have guessed how to get the islands? We’ve now learned, so we’ll show you one by one, but they’re not exactly obvious.

IcePop has tried exploring this cave several times but always came up on land - then I twigged she was depressurising - by cancelling that out, she finally swam through... and found an island.

IcePop has tried exploring this cave several times but always came up on land – then I twigged she was depressurising – by cancelling that out, she finally swam through… and found an island.

"Yay!  Another island to splash about on!"

“Yay! Another island to splash about on!”

Not so fast, SnapChat.  We discovered that another island can be gained by saving the lives of 35 sims.  Who have to drown in the sea, not on land (most of Quorn's saved people were on-land CPR).

Not so fast, SnapChat. We discovered that another island can be gained by saving the lives of 35 sims. Who have to drown in the sea, not on land (most of Quorn’s saved people were on-land CPR).

I don't see any drowning people...

I don’t see any drowning people…

I call shenanigans on this.

I call shenanigans on this.

'Can we cheat yet?'

‘Can we cheat yet?’

I suspect we will have to find a way of doing that, yes, but we will at least TRY to win the island legitimately first.

I suspect we will have to find a way of doing that, yes, but we will at least TRY to win the island legitimately first.

And SnapChat isn't the only one of the kids I've forced into work.  Desperate to get a meteor death, I'm trying firefighting again with Twitter.  However, I've learned that the dystopian future world has meteors so if that works out well for us, he can be let off the hook.

And SnapChat isn’t the only one of the kids I’ve forced into work. Desperate to get a meteor death, I’m trying firefighting again with Twitter. However, I’ve learned that the dystopian future world has meteors so if that works out well for us, he can be let off the hook.

Boolprop is slowy making friends, building charisma and bestowing inner beauty on the way to his LTW.  He made Instagram ugly as well, although it's harder to see on ghosts.

Boolprop is slowy making friends, building charisma and bestowing inner beauty on the way to his LTW. He made Instagram ugly as well, although it’s harder to see on ghosts.

We got Marina a male puppy playmate, Jack Sparrow.

We got Marina a male puppy playmate, Jack Sparrow.

We've never had puppies before and when they get that moodlet about wanting to let out energy they don't seem to be able to satisfy it with toys (which I think are adult dogs only?) so end up chewing furniture.

We’ve never had puppies before and when they get that moodlet about wanting to let out energy they don’t seem to be able to satisfy it with toys (which I think are adult dogs only?) so end up chewing furniture.

Pinterest has been trying with the chew toy to see if tug of war will train them into better ways, but it doesn't seem to.  We are such n00bs with pets.

Pinterest has been trying with the chew toy to see if tug of war will train them into better ways, but it doesn’t seem to. We are such n00bs with pets.

And 24HourSpar is in search of another island.  Apparently you start a quest off by asking a receptionist at a resort about adventure.  WHO ON EARTH WOULD KNOW THAT?  Still, I guess with our trying everything we would eventually have figured it out.

And 24HourSpar is in search of another island. Apparently you start a quest off by asking a receptionist at a resort about adventure. WHO ON EARTH WOULD KNOW THAT? Still, I guess with our trying everything we would eventually have figured it out.

By the way, we tried to get Ice Pop to have mermadic kelp after it didn't work on a fairy kid - and it didn't work on her, either.  I read up on this and the mermaid kelp only works on a human sim, not any kind of supernatural, even ghost.  Bah.  We haven't seen a single mermaid on this island.

By the way, we tried to get Ice Pop to have mermadic kelp after it didn’t work on a fairy kid – and it didn’t work on her, either. I read up on this and the mermaid kelp only works on a human sim, not any kind of supernatural, even ghost. Bah. We haven’t seen a single mermaid on this island.

Still, the scenery remains lovely, even in the rain.

Still, the scenery remains lovely, even in the rain.

We sent SnapChat to the consignment store to see if they had any of the elixir that removes supernatural states.  They didn't, but they had some sort of clone potion.  I thought Wiggles had made and used every elixir when she did alchemy, but I don't recall that one, so we bought it.

We sent SnapChat to the consignment store to see if they had any of the elixir that removes supernatural states. They didn’t, but they had some sort of clone potion. I thought Wiggles had made and used every elixir when she did alchemy, but I don’t recall that one, so we bought it.

2015-05-02 22.52.29

Ooh, this is going to be fun...

Ooh, this is going to be fun…

Meanwhile, back with the family, we've decided to think about earning those legacy statues in the future.  Puddle's playing his laser rythm-o-con to as many sims as possible - he's meant to play for 10.

Meanwhile, back with the family, we’ve decided to think about earning those legacy statues in the future. Puddle’s playing his laser rythm-o-con to as many sims as possible – he’s meant to play for 10.

The advantage of a large family is we should make those numbers up on our own - still, with all the Dayes and a bunch of bystanders, he still didn't get any announcement about it :(

The advantage of a large family is we should make those numbers up on our own – still, with all the Dayes and a bunch of bystanders, he still didn’t get any announcement about it 😦

There were a lot of birthdays, though.  Linda McCartney and JD's Nitescene both became old :(

There were a lot of birthdays, though. Linda McCartney and JD’s Nitescene both became old 😦

PgsFromCeefax became a regular adult; the kid no-one cares about, Frank Spencer (the token bed ghost baby offspring of Falafel and Manisha who will be shipped off when he's a YA once he's done something vaguely useful for me) became a teen.

PgsFromCeefax became a regular adult; the kid no-one cares about, Frank Spencer (the token bed ghost baby offspring of Falafel and Manisha who will be shipped off when he’s a YA once he’s done something vaguely useful for me) became a teen.

As did Jafar, Manisha's son with Raggedy Man. This is good, because he can now hunt in a pack with her and help her fulfil her LTW.

As did Jafar, Manisha’s son with Raggedy Man. This is good, because he can now hunt in a pack with her and help her fulfil her LTW.

Elsa became a toddler.

Elsa became a toddler.

When I wasn't looking, Manisha and Jafar ran away from Puddle's show.

When I wasn’t looking, Manisha and Jafar ran away from Puddle’s show.

2015-04-30 22.44.37

Serves them both right.

Serves them both right.

Tofu made a simbot, gave it sentience and tuned it up to future quality.  No pop-up triggered to say he'd done enough to get a legacy statue, but maybe we had to go to the future to find that out.

Tofu made a simbot, gave it sentience and tuned it up to future quality. No pop-up triggered to say he’d done enough to get a legacy statue, but maybe we had to go to the future to find that out.

We fancied a utopian future this time, so Manisha got started on some tasks set to make it happen.

We fancied a utopian future this time, so Manisha got started on some tasks set to make it happen.

She had to throw some dew at people.

She had to throw some dew at people.

I

I

Screenshot-3250

Screenshot-3251

It's like the Berry sim agenda took over the EP.

It’s like the Berry sim agenda took over the EP.

2015-05-01 18.33.49

2015-05-01 18.22.38

2015-05-01 18.22.48

She got a task to then go to the science place but no task appeared on it and it wasn't in her actions so I wondered if it meant in the future, rather than the present...

She got a task to then go to the science place but no task appeared on it and it wasn’t in her actions so I wondered if it meant in the future, rather than the present…

...so we went for another jaunt.  This time we took JD, Tofu and Manisha and Jafar to see if they could hunt rare items.

…so we went for another jaunt. This time we took JD, Tofu and Manisha and Jafar to see if they could hunt rare items. We ended up in the normal future again.

This wasn't the plan, you guys.

This wasn’t the plan, you guys.

This is Manisha, on her way to transforming, fainting at her son transforming.  Stupid sim.

This is Manisha, on her way to transforming, fainting at her son transforming. Stupid sim.

She doesn't even have any fearful or skeptical type traits.

She doesn’t even have any fearful or skeptical type traits.

They didn't hunt up anything especially new or rare, just gems and bugs like at home.

They didn’t hunt up anything especially new or rare, just gems and bugs like at home.

I wonder if you get these graves when someone dies in a future world (adds to the to-do list)?

I wonder if you get these graves when someone dies in a future world (adds to the to-do list)?

Green and hunger?

Green and hunger?

JD has been stalking all the neighbours to try and get sprites and upgrade their replicators.  If they don't have a replicator we buy them one.  EVENTUALLY, he hit the challenge of programming 20.

JD has been stalking all the neighbours to try and get sprites and upgrade their replicators. If they don’t have a replicator we buy them one. EVENTUALLY, he hit the challenge of programming 20.

We met some Daye descendants who are bots but look like humans.    Don't know why.  Maybe Elsa will grow up to be like one of these.

We met some Daye descendants who are bots but look like humans. Don’t know why. Maybe Elsa will grow up to be like one of these.

Tofu has tuned up every bot in town - some of whom seem to really like it...

Tofu has tuned up every bot in town – some of whom seem to really like it…

Eventually he earned his 5000 in tune-ups, which took FOREVER to do.

Eventually he earned his 5000 in tune-ups, which took FOREVER to do.

He also made his 200th nanite although I don't have a shot.  We've yet to find any of the rare nanites though, and I'm a completist, so he's hanging around until that's done, despite completing his LTW, career and skill challenges.  Besides, I learned that the special ITF careers have 10 levels and 2 tracks each, so I need him to master the bot arena track, or one of them, anyway.

He also made his 200th nanite although I don’t have a shot. We’ve yet to find any of the rare nanites though, and I’m a completist, so he’s hanging around until that’s done, despite completing his LTW, career and skill challenges. Besides, I learned that the special ITF careers have 10 levels and 2 tracks each, so I need him to master the bot arena track, or one of them, anyway.

JD saw lots of sims playing with sprites but when he talked to them there'd be no holodisc option.

JD saw lots of sims playing with sprites but when he talked to them there’d be no holodisc option.

So as far as I'm concerned, this kid deserves the slightly creepy pinch cheeks interaction.

So as far as I’m concerned, this kid deserves the slightly creepy pinch cheeks interaction.

He went to every residential and public lot (which means we can tick that box).  The cafe serves the sim with their favourite foods, which is worth remembering if I need to make sure they all eat their fave at least once.

He went to every residential and public lot (which means we can tick that box). The cafe serves the sim with their favourite foods, which is worth remembering if I need to make sure they all eat their fave at least once.

Manisha synthesised her favourite food.  She did the clappy hands thing they do when they eat their fave, but I forgot to check if she got the moodlet.

Manisha synthesised her favourite food. She did the clappy hands thing they do when they eat their fave, but I forgot to check if she got the moodlet.

'When oh when will I get the 10th sprite'?  We were on 9 and had chatted to every resident we could meet.

‘When oh when will I get the 10th sprite’? We were on 9 and had chatted to every resident we could meet.

Whilst out at the home of random simbots, we saw this little fella.

Whilst out at the home of random simbots, we saw this little fella.

Who was just so adorable I felt super-guilty about abandoning him.

Who was just so adorable I felt super-guilty about abandoning him.

So we took Data Daye back into the fold.  Hey, there's loads of death styles still to get, so he'll be useful for something.

So we took Data Daye back into the fold. Hey, there’s loads of death styles still to get, so he’ll be useful for something.

I sent JD to the shop to look at the clothiing pedestal we'd need for that legacy statue.

I send him to the shop to look at the clothiing pedestal we’d need for that legacy statue.

I wondered if, just maybe, this could work...

I wondered if, just maybe, this could work…

It did!  Buying the sprite meant we now had all ten...

It did! Buying the sprite meant we now had all ten…

...and got the bonus one.  I will try to get a shot of each one when I remember.

…and got the bonus one. I will try to get a shot of each one when I remember.

I was so pleased that I bought him a young again potion... but mainly because I learned a little about the ITF careers and how advanced tech is useful for the astronomy one, and how topping careers gets you sprites, so I think I will be needing JD for some time yet...

I was so pleased that I bought him a young again potion… but mainly because I learned a little about the ITF careers and how advanced tech is useful for the astronomy one, and how topping careers gets you sprites, so I think I will be needing JD for some time yet…

Meanwhile, Jafar got on with some toddler training...

Meanwhile, Jafar got on with some toddler training…

The pumbots clearly have all the looks in this family...

The pumbots clearly have all the looks in this family…

Not being in utopia or getting any legacy statues, we went back to the present to put things right.  I read the  plumbot instructions again.  It says you make a future tech bot, THEN give it sentience.  So we changed the bot (seen here doing a comedy show for Elsa)'s chips, then put Sentience back in.

Not being in utopia or getting any legacy statues, we went back to the present to put things right. I read the plumbot instructions again. It says you make a future tech bot, THEN give it sentience. So we changed the bot (seen here doing a comedy show for Elsa)’s chips, then put Sentience back in.

HALLE-FRICKIN-LUJAH

HALLE-FRICKIN-LUJAH

These two finally tied the knot.

These two finally tied the knot.

They don't have enough jet-pack skill to woohoo yet, but they can do aerial kissing.

They don’t have enough jet-pack skill to woohoo yet, but they can do aerial kissing.

Aww.

Aww.

Wheee!

Wheee!

We got the display for the fashion legacy statue quest.

We got the display for the fashion legacy statue quest.

I wonder if you can somehow mate with the models?  They're pleasingly alien looking (not that we've had any success with aliens yet either)

I wonder if you can somehow mate with the models? They’re pleasingly alien looking (not that we’ve had any success with aliens yet either)

Ha, look what is in the catalogue - a dais for days for Dayes.

Ha, look what is in the catalogue – a dais for days for Dayes.

Sadly, whilst you need four sims to try on the outfit, we only had three in the selected category (young adult male) - although I think  Puddle is one, too, so we might be OK when he gets home...

Sadly, whilst you need four sims to try on the outfit, we only had three in the selected category (young adult male) – although I think Puddle is one, too, so we might be OK when he gets home…

He was playing another gig, this time to fewer sims, but still...

He was playing another gig, this time to fewer sims, but still…

Emit R appeared to us this time in holograph form.

Emit R appeared to us this time in holograph form.

This time Jafar took on the challenge of getting the utopia started.

This time Jafar took on the challenge of getting the utopia started.

Unlike his mother, he got to use the potion on himself and the others AND go to the science lab.

Unlike his mother, he got to use the potion on himself and the others AND go to the science lab.

Before that, though, I had Manisha and PgsFromCeefax try for baby again and again... and gave up and pollinated her in the end.

Before that, though, I had Manisha and PgsFromCeefax try for baby again and again… and gave up and pollinated her in the end.

To Utopia!  This time I sent Abigail, Cornetto, JD and Tofu. because it's strictly a working jaunt.  I want Abigail (who has charisma and logic) and JD to do the two different branches of the astronomy career, and Cornetto and Tofu to do the two branches of the bot arena career.

To Utopia! This time I sent Abigail, Cornetto, JD and Tofu. because it’s strictly a working jaunt. I want Abigail (who has charisma and logic) and JD to do the two different branches of the astronomy career, and Cornetto and Tofu to do the two branches of the bot arena career.

We also used Cornetto's holo emitter to have a long distance chat with Linda.

We also used Cornetto’s holo emitter to have a long distance chat with Linda McCartney.

If only you could blog about this, Linda.

If only you could blog about this, Linda.

So pretty :)

So pretty 🙂

Puddle's statue.

Puddle’s statue.

And Tofu's...

And Tofu’s…

The ultimate selfie?

The ultimate selfie?

Join us next time to see how we get on in Utopia and to see what happens with SnapChat and her clone!

Join us next time to see how we get on in Utopia and to see what happens with SnapChat and her clone!

Responses

  1. Utopia is great fun – if you have a collection helper, you should find some rare bugs. I got a rainbow beetle and rainbow butterfly the last time I went. And you’re reminding me how much I have yet to experience with, well, most of the EPs. Definitely have to play around in the future some more, and build some plumbots!

    Elsa is super cute, can’t wait to see how many occult statuses you manage to fit on a single Daye.

    • The most so far is two or three I think. Until the last gen I am seeing what the game allows in terms of hybrids. Then I will go all out with NRaas mods to see what happens. I got a bit sad the other day realising I only had 5 or 6 ltws left to lock in but there are still loads of things I haven’t done in the game so it just means future Dayes can be more experimental or career focused than trying to do ltws. Sims 3 has so much in it, even 6 years on. I am hoping by the time we’re through that ts4 will have a bit more to offer (or ts5 will be out)

  2. I haven’t read the newest update yet (free time is rare at the moment), but I wanted to let you know that I nominated the Days (and Knights) for the Liebster Award.
    https://oxjennxo.wordpress.com/2015/05/20/liebster-award/

  3. Can’t wait for your next update. 🙂

    • Sadly a bit delayed due to IRL issues… pics all ready, but I had surgery on my left arm, then broke my right one, so computer use is tricky at present!

  4. I’ve never seen Oasis Landing in winter! It’s so pretty! Elsa’s also really cute. What are her traits?

  5. The past few chapters have made me really want to try out some ITF LTWs. The future looks super fun! ^_^

    • Yeah, it is. I would love to play it again sometime as there’s so much I never got to explore, but I don’t know if my arms will ever get better enough for me to play computer games again :/

      • I don’t know if this would be possible for you, but there’s a program called JoyToKey that can bind keyboard and mouse input to a controller, if that’s easier for you to use.

        I hope you do get better and get to enjoy the Sims 3. Best of luck to you!

      • Thanks. I have never heard of it so I will look into it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

