Posted by: Rad | March 18, 2010

Burning desires

As you probably know, my computer is out of action again and I played this chapter through before all your exciting suggestions about woohooing in public buildings and so on.  So you’ll have to wait and see if any more of Gen 5 get conceived in that manner.  In the meantime, let’s get caught up with where the Dayes were last time I played (not sure how long it’ll be until I get the computer back to play again).

I still hadn’t had much luck in getting Ming Si moving in so I decided to invite him over for one last try.  I was also contemplating playing about with the no jealousy reward to get Kodak or Fuji hooked up with him and see what happened.  Then a weird thing happened.  I sent Polaroid to invite him in and she had the ‘friendly introduction’ interaction available, which I’ve never seen anyone have with their boyfriend/girlfriend before.  When he came into the house he was her acquaintance and she knew none of his traits rather than all of them (mooch, great kisser, dislikes children, photographer’s eye and something else).  He still shows as being Karate’s dad, he just doesn’t know Polaroid any more (she has the observant LTR so rediscovered three of his traits on “meeting” him).

So we tried something else…

Even when their relationship got to a max green bar, Kodak wouldn’t get the option to propose going steady, or to move in.  I don’t know if this is her commitment issues kicking in or just some glitching.  Five times he refused to try for baby, even though he would happily get all the way to the bed with her.  He may dislike children but he never had an issue making a baby with Polaroid…

Meanwhile, Discus became a teen and I gave him over-emotional.  So far I’ve discovered that this makes his moodlets have more points of happiness/misery than usual but other than that we haven;t had much time to play with it yet.  When I clicked on him to change appearance I noticed he had the option to burn something and I remembered his pyromaniac hidden trait from having a firefighter dad.  Three times I clicked on the burn something option – the first time nothing happened.  The other two times we got the pop up telling us a fire had started on the lot – but no fire.  Weird.

The other thing pyros can do (that I know about so far) is transmogrify fruit.  Here we see Discus transmogrifying a plum – it turns into smoke in his hand and becomes a flame fruit in the inventory.  This might well be handy for my nectar sims (possibly Gen 6 who can do nectar and gardening, though Gen 5 might have a go at it) as flame fruit is apparently a good thing for nectar.  I am assuming pyro is like other hidden traits and is inherited (the Lazaruses could all salute) which presumably means that if Electric Elvis sires the rest of Fuji’s babies, all future heirs will have pyro and possibly immune to fire.

Since Eddie “died” (and we’re annoyingly getting the ‘about to die’ pop up for him we got with Magician for a while), it’s been all hands on deck with the garden, and Discus is doing pretty well at gardening.  Kodak’s at level 10 now as well, but I am still waiting for omnis.  Bah.  I am so jealous of all those other legacies where people get them.  I must have had about 15 level 10 gardeners across the Kyotis, Dayes and Lazaruses and never an omni plant, and only Thomas Daye ever had cheese and steak.

Discus is also onto painting.  This is in to demonstrate my idiocy – he got to level 6 or 7 and rolled the photography and painting LTW.  Since I was planning on someone in Gen 5 doing that and I wasn’t thinking straight, I locked it in.  Then I thought about it – his traits are all set up for the exploring LTWs and he will be rolling his YA trait as I picked his traits so far, so this is a dumb move.  I ended up spending his first 10K of LTH to change his LTW to the one where you have to get a Level 3 Visa instead, which is what I’d been planning for him in the first place.  Whoops.

Fuji and Kodak still aren’t at the same level at work so I’m still not really able to test out the multi-tasker reward successfully.  Fuji got promoted to level 5 athletic and as she left the stadium everyone cheered her.  Annoyingly, she hasn’t had any chance cards yet, which was part of the reason for sticking her in athletics in the first place.  Kodak had the one where you either watch people doing something or join in and she joined in and impressed her teammates.

Kodak was at level 4 and very close to level 5 so I had her ask the boss for a promotion.  She was refused.  I thought this might happen as they’re not friends yet, but I had hoped the LTR might influence her chances.  Bah.

Anyway, it will be some time before Kodak and Fuji are at the same level in work again as sixth time was the charm and Kodak is having Ming Si’s baby.

She put her pregnancy to good use by finally maxing out her athletic skill.

Karate, meanwhile, managed to recover from his grandfather’s demise and finished off all his toddler skilling.

He looks even more like Polaroid now he’s a child.  I’m so bored of seeing violets and purples in this legacy though so I may give him a change of taste at some point.

Adrian Mole has been tutoring him and has now achieved 12 hours out of the 20 he needs to meet that part of his skill challenge.

He’s also got 19/20 celestial bodies.  Discovering The Cappuccino Years, Lost Diaries, Weapons of Mass Destruction, The Prostrate (because I pressed enter too quickly) and The Prostrate Years meant we’d run out of Adrian Mole books to name stars after so we went for characters in the books and his next few stars were Pandora, Bert Baxter, Nigel, Pauline, George and Rosie.  He did discover a 20th star, Rat Fink Lucas, but the game crashed.  Next time he discovers star 20 I might name it Stick Insect or something instead.  This will all mean nothing to those of you who haven’t read the Adrian Mole books.  Incidentally, Gandalf’s one and only star was called Bilbo Baggins.  I’m glad Ady ended up doing the challenges as I’d have struggled with those LOTR names.

We only have the robot fish left alive.  I suck at keeping pets and plants.

I thought I’d throw in this random shot of our latest maid.  She hates Kodak and boos her every chance she gets.

This shot tells you so much.  Ming Si wet himself because unlike most of the Dayes, he does not have a steel bladder and I was pestering him with Kodak all day to see if she got the option to go steady with him or ask him to move in.  He is very angry at his new daughter’s birth, while Karate is really excited about his new baby sistercousin (she shows up as half-sister in his panel).  Kodak spent most of her pregnancy hitting on Ming Si and I got to choose one of the baby’s traits, which was artistic, because I’ll be getting her to do the photography and painting LTW I almost gave to Discus. I can’t remember what the game gave her but I don’t think it was anything exciting, and I can’t remember her favourite food or colour.  I do know that her name is Giggles though.

Now Karate’s a child, I’m looking forward to seeing if his hidden Chinese Culture trait comes out.  His dad sings the songs all the time (as do Polaroid and Discus) and eats with chopsticks and Karate should allegedly inherit both of these.  I’m hoping he’ll also get more desires to go to China and suchlike.  I plan for him to do the tomb exploration LTW and when he turns teen I’ll send Gen 5 off on their first exploration.

No sooner had Giggles been born than Electric Elvis paid us a visit for the first time in days.  See how he and Fuji float towards each other.

I immediately sent Polaroid to move out as I needed room for electric baby twins (hopefully). She amassed close to 200K LTH, was an amazing martial artist and will be sorely missed. I’d planned to keep her around until she turned adult so I could give her her hair back, but she’s still two or three days off so she’ll end up with Babysitter’s buzz cut style instead. Sorry, Polaroid!

Annoyingly, though, Electric Elvis disappeared before any babymaking action could take place, so I freed up an extra space for no reason. Still, Ming Si was hanging about the house at close of play…

Join us next time to see how long it takes me to get my computer back, whether the Dayes and all their CC are restored to normal and if I can ever get Fuji to have more kids!


Responses

  1. Wahoo! Welcome, Giggles! :o)

    ~sniff~ Bye, Polaroid! At least Karate looks like her.

    Weird how Fuji still floats. Huh. Also weird about the maid booing Kodak. Do they have opposite traits or something?

    Firestarter sims can also transmogrify seeds into flame fruit, in case you want to try that.

    Hope your computer is back soon!

    • I guess Kodak gets booed because she’s a ghost?

      I was annoyed I kicked Polaroid for nothing, stupid Elvis.

      Transmogrifying would be a good use for poor quality seeds if that’s the case, thanks!

  2. Awwwwwwww. Karte was such an adorable toddler.
    Giggles is such a cute name.

    • Yeah, he was probably the cutest yet. I hope Giggles is cute. I suspect she’ll be blonde like her mum but maybe she’ll get unlucky and look like Ming Si.

  3. Wait…so Fuji still floats even though she’s ambrosia-fied?

    • Yup, though not through walls. Polaroid and Harry never did though, just Fuji.

      • Weird, didn’t know if that was normal or not – haven’t ever played with ghosts.

  4. Hope your computer comes back as good as new! I love your naming schemes, Giggles is precious 🙂

    • Yeah, I’m having fun naming them after traits. I’m thinking of doing a WYD soon and wondering what naming I’ll use. Probably something to do with the fathers.

      • You run through your sim stories so quickly! Here I am still stuck on 3rd gen of my first one! I’d love to see your take on a WYD challenge, they’re too much fun to read.

  5. Not my usual type of Sims blog when it comes to what I like, but for some reason I do like this one! I will go back and start from generation 1 as soon as I get the chance! =]

    • I wanted to do something very different from my other Sims blogs (and the new stories/challenges I want to take on will be different again) – style switching FTW.

      Glad you like it, nice to see you here!

  6. Ah, good to see Ady tutoring kids now. I thought that might be the difference. The nice thing is it works on teens and other people’s kids as well.

    Karate is really cute as a child too!

    • Tutoring was a pain but we got there in the end. Yeah, Karate has a lot of Polaroid as a kid. He has a little more of Ming Si as a teen but not that much.

  7. Hi! I’m finally back in the legacy blogging business. It’s great coming back to your story telling again. It’s so sad that Eddie had to go. He was my favourite. But I like Poloroid too.
    About the Omni plant. I’ve never got the oppurtunty either, but discover a thing last time I had a high skilled gardener. I had another opportunity locked in, and therefore the gardening option never come – until it was too late. I closes the other oppurtunity and got the first gardening challenge almost immediatly. Unfourtunatly my gardener (Delilah in gen 2 of my legacy) was already old and died before I was able to finish the one with steaks…


Leave a comment

Categories