Posted by: Rad | November 12, 2009

The verdict is in…

Screenshot-400

The results of the heir poll are in, and it’s no real surprise that Sindy is our new winner.  Her reign will officially begin in the next entry, as I played this entry out before I knew who’d be heir, so the house is still red.

Before going on maternity leave, Sindy took a job in catering.

Screenshot-397

Amaryllis is encouraging her daughter in their new career by enthusing about cooking.  I like the mixing action combined with the overhead dialogue.  It’s cute.

Screenshot-380

And here are our boys in violet.  Thomas is reading a fish book while Magician mocks him about not winning the heir poll.  Thomas isn’t bothered though, he knows my plans for Magic boy, and they still currently involve that little blue pool in the garden.

Screenshot-412

Magic boy is chomping down on his life fruit so he doesn’t turn elder too quickly.  I have rationed it to five pieces per sim so he’ll inevitably have to flirt with people when he’s wrinkly, but never mind.  I have decided to let him go for heartbreaker, so he’s spending a lot of time playing guitar in preparation.  I’ve also got him a job in business for the time being but I might make him quit or get fired.

Screenshot-409

Remember the omni plant woes we were having?  Well, I decided to see if giving it food other than the fishing book would help.  We planted one of the work books – and lo and behold, it bore fruit.  So we’ve refed it the fishing book again to see if it will take it.  Clearly this thing needs a change in diet every so often.

Screenshot-399

I sent Abraham out to do another autograph session.  Last time he did it autonomously and signed two autographs.  This time i controlled him and he signed six (he had three more queued up but didn’t have time to get to them).    Hmm.  I’m not convinced by this – anything where I have to keep click-click-clicking isn’t much fun in a large household.

Screenshot-416

Last time, I was moaning about the favourite music thing and my readers implored me to try it again, so I did.  Here Thomas is demonstrating that you were right and I was wrong.  Music gives them a +20 moodlet, favourite music gives a +30.  Thanks everyone.  This has given me some ideas for the house design when we’re rich enough to do some proper building as well…

By the way, I bought the kiddie cooker in the background for Amaryllis,  but she can’t use it.  Boo!

But I know what you’re all really waiting for, and that’s the babies, right?

Screenshot-385

Papergirl gave birth on the lawn with the maid watching.  I am doing a bit of pregnancy experimenting to see what does and doesn’t ensure a good pregnancy.  Amaryllis and Abe both read Totally Preggers when Sindy was gestating, and I chose both of her traits.  Ama read Baby Incoming with Thomas but went into labour in the library and I didn’t send her away (she autonomously went to the hospital though).  She probably wasn’t in a great mood, either, though I don’t remember.  I chose one of Thomas’s traits.

Papergirl got to have the £1,000 package at the day spa, read Totally Preggers and Baby Incoming and I got to choose both of her baby’s traits.

Screenshot-386

Piranha Daye is a couch potato and a slob who likes purple and tri-tip steak (sigh).  I thought I would make her a Five-Star Chef but couldn’t choose Natural Cook so thought Couch Potato would be handy for the hours of watching Cookin’ Cable, and slob would be OK for being surrounded by dirty plates.  However, I am wondering whether I might change her to a Gold Digger.

Papergirl’s next novel, by the way, was titled Cuddling Piranha, and the one after was called Baby Daredevil…

Screenshot-402

…which leads us nicely to our next pregnancy.  Sindy gave birth with her mother just standing there.  I like the way she is giving Amaryllis a bit of an accusatory  look.

I didn’t get Sindy or Magician to read any pregnancy books and she didn’t get to the spa.  She had family portraits to do, after all.  She was happy throughout, but her social had just dropped to give her a negative moodlet when she went into labour.

I didn’t choose either of this baby’s traits.

Screenshot-403

Evel Knievel Daye is excitable and easily impressed.  She might be a Five Star Chef instead.  Or she might not.  Her favourite colour is orange but I can’t remember her favourite food.  Something annoying, probably.  So far the only person who’s got to eat their favourite food is Amaryllis, but she’s building up her cookery skill so hopefully the others will get theirs soon.

I know Evel Knievel is a boy’s name, but I only know two daredevils, and they’re both men.  I did do a mini search for female daredevils but the only one I could find was called Anne or Annie or something dull.  Besides, Sindy might not have a boy and you can’t NOT have a daredevil named baby called Evel Knievel.  Evel sounds OK for a girl, though, doesn’t it?

Screenshot-393

Amaryllis is overjoyed by her grandchildren.

Screenshot-413

And now here’s a little something I want to point out for all those of you who voted for Sindy in the heir poll.  Here is Thomas dutifully attending to his daughter.

Screenshot-411

Here is Sindy attending to hers.  She’s not at home (I can’t remember why) and she has just decided to put the baby on the floor and go home without her.

Like mother, like daughter.

I can hear DB tutting at you all about your heir choice from here.

Screenshot-415

And so the sun sets on generation one.

Join us on Sunday when we’ll have redecorated the house and we’ll be testing out whether our girls’ traits make a difference to toddler skilling, and seeing whether Amaryllis can get that blasted LTW out of the way!


Responses

  1. ~tutting indeed~

    Such sweet pics! I love – of course – the one with Thomas holding Piranha, but the one of Sindy holding little E.K. up against the night sky is nice, too. Hey, would you consider Amelia Earhart a daredevil? You could name one Trapeze, maybe.

    Go, Amaryllis, go! Do you plan to let her top out the last one?

    • I don’t know how fast and loose I’m going to be playing with the daredevil definition yet. Depends how many kids Sindy has.

      I’m not sure on Amaryllis’s career plans – the fridge would be nice, but I hope Gen 3 will get that for us. I was thinking I’d have her retire and concentrate on gardening and collecting but everything with this family is subject to change!

    • Haha DB:) tut tut you sound like Thomas… 🙂 You convinced me with your jingle but I had voted already:( I was swayed by Sindy’s Kelly Osbourne look.

      RAD! the names! HAHAHAHAHA Pirahna.. bwahahahahahaha… and I think Evel is a fine name for a girlie girl. BRILLIANT!

      Wondering about the pool and poor blueboy now… LOL

      Interesting about the Omni, I guess they just like us, too much of one thing is not always a good thing.

      The maid looks like that evil maid that has been frequenting legacies all over lately…

  2. awwwwwwwww. Thomas is so sweet with his baby.
    The sim I had topped athletic and he auto held autograph sessions. Didn’t know you could manually hold them. So you can let them sort it ut themselves,but it may not be that succesful, but he still got a mood boost, which was the only way I knew he did it cos he started on his own after the game finished.
    According to info I’ve found you have to manually click. The people you sign for get a reltionship boost with., but if they ahve to wait too long you get neg relationship. Their best held in the afternoon, and you get a cut of the money earnt by the buisness where the session is held.
    One of my sims beats Kim for worst mum. She goes to visit a neighbour taking the toddler with her. Goes into labour at the friends house, leaves the toddler there to go home to give birth, and only when she reaches home does she ask to call the nanny, who takes the baby home.

    • Kim’s a fine mum. It’s Amaryllis and Sindy you have to watch! The ‘celebrity’ mood boost is fun, but I don’t like autograph sessions. Too fiddly. Shame I have to do several more because I stupidly decided that doing every interaction at every venue would be a good idea.

  3. Sorry I got the names muddled up.
    Atleast you can possiby get a bit of money out of it, and friends, which could be handy for charisma gaining.

  4. Just to annoy you further with music explorations: do you suppose that the different types of fav music have different amounts in positive moodlets? I have a classical loving sim who has a +37 moodlet everytime she listens to some Chopin, while my sims with opposing tastes in music usually only see a +30.

    I’m loving Evel’s wilderness training, Sindy’s such an amazing mother. Also, I hope Mr. Gnome doesn’t stuff it after a few more poses as worsie suggested last post 😦

    • Hmmm. Not sure if I have any classical sims but will check.

  5. Lol, I think its funny how so far your heir and your founder both have neglected their children. Maybe it’ll continue through the heirs.

    • Noooo! Don’t wish that on me!!

      *Dreads the sim I’ll have to create with ‘dislikes children’ becoming an heir*

      • I think you should try having an heir that has dislikes children AND commitment issues, along with mean spirited, grumpy, annnndddd uhhhh slob. Lol that would be interesting

  6. LOL at the picture of Sindy standing there looking angry at her baby on the ground, as if she expects it to get up and start walking home on it’s own.

    In the 3rd picture…where is that painting in the background from? haha its cute.

    • My sims and motherhood. *Shakes head*.

      The picture is one of the default paintings. Thomas did that one.

  7. I manually held an autograph session at the theatre with my rock star and usually can get 20+ signed (I ignore my other sims and only do the autographs) and usually get around 10,000 simoleans out of the deal. Which is really not bad for only 4? hours work.

    • How do you manage to do 20 autographs? Abe managed 6 and I was click click clicking the whole time!

  8. You could pause and click on relevent people, unpause let hims do people, pause agai etc. That may work.

    • Oh I was doing all that. I just suck at autographs!

  9. […] Lazarus takes the helm as the family continue to steer Riverview through the apocalypse.  In The verdict is in… our new leader of the Daye family is announced, and we meet the first members of Gen 3, whilst in […]

  10. Oh man! Good update! (I was so excited to see it). Also — loving the baby names. I laughed when I heard Piranha’s name, but the more I thought about it the more I thought it was really cool. And Evel is a perfect name for a baby girl!

  11. Yeah, I’m behind, as usual. I’m worried, though, having heard rumors of an upcoming unfair death. Hmmm.

    Anyway, Evel has pretty much the coolest name ever, so there. 😀

    Hmmm. Your Omni plant learnings are interesting. The ones the DeCasims grew at home never needed a change in diet because they died while still bearing fruit. Or, technically, books. Must be something related only to the community plant.

    • Oh Catherine. Wait until you see yesterday’s entry and the one I’m about to post. You’ll love them.

      The omni is weird. More learnings to come soon on that one I think. I have a theory about it that I’m still testing out.

  12. I second desmera. I had a rock star and he would give 20+ autographs in a session and bring home big bucks.

    For the favorite music, I know that before the recent patch, sims would also change the station to their favorite music if they wanted to dance. Good because it made more use of the favorite music. Bad because the station would change constantly during a party.

    I just started reading today, by the way! Looking forward to reading the second generation tomorrow.

    • How are you guys managing to do 20 autographs? Are you just super-efficient?

      • Not at all. I just pause and line up the queue. Rinse and repeat. Sometimes there are lulls with no one waiting and I get less signed. I found that when he stood closer to the theatre, he signed more though. Once he chased someone into the street and much fewer were signed.

  13. Hmm. I did that and still only 6-8 signed. Oh well. I suck at autographs 🙂

  14. lol very original story! Your sims r funny and i enjoy your writting technique. I will add you to my blogroll, u can do the same if you’d like

    -Home-

  15. It needed a change of diet? What a great tip.
    My omni’s did die eventually, but never needed a change of diet.

    Lol @ Amaryllis is overwhelmed with joy by her grandchildren!

  16. Evel is a wonderful name. I hope she gets Sindy’s hair, but I bet you’ll change it. Or have changed it? Auggh I hate being so behind! ^0^

    • Yeah, that hair changes…npretty sure she was just blonde before I coloured it though


Leave a comment

Categories