Posted by: Rad | November 4, 2009

Better the daredevil you know

Screenshot-49

Thomas has made a new friend and he’s at her house when he celebrates his birthday.  Most of you will probably be able to guess which gene pool she comes from just by looking at her.

But if you can’t, this is Sherry Bunch.

Screenshot-53

Thomas ages up to look just like his dad, and he’s lost some of his toddler/child cuteness.  We need some attractive Gen two spouses, I feel.  So guess who won’t be a gen two spouse?

Screenshot-98

She DEFINITELY won’t be a gen two spouse now I’ve seen her teen pic.  Eeek!  Amaryllis, meanwhile, is getting through science reasonably quickly.  She’s super bestest mates with her boss which is good because she keeps working hard and working from home and then not quite topping out her green bar at work, so here she is calling him over so she can ask him to promote her to the next level.

Screenshot-99

Here’s a close up of two people who won’t be legacy spouses.  I took against the maid because she keeps talking to the guests rather than cleaning.  This photo scares me, it looks like they’re plotting some way of getting themselves into my family.  We do like maids round these parts, just not this particular one.

Screenshot-82

Amaryllis (newly promoted as you can see from her jacket) is still playing around with being childish sometimes.  Here she is making a face at Agnes.  Awesomely, Agnes made one back but I missed the shot.

Ama working in the science lab has reminded me of something – there is an omni plant at the back of the lab.  Amaryllis is currently level eight at gardening so we may get some opportunities eventually, but the Kyotis had several level ten gardeners and never got “the” call – so if the moutain won’t come to Mohammed and all that…

Screenshot-96

We decide to experiment with ‘Squares are Not Triangles’.  Seeing as Amaryllis donated our last copy to the library it felt fitting that if this didn’t work and we lost another book, it should be the same one.  We could feed the book without any problems.

Screenshot-68

And, lo and behold, we grew ourselves some more copies to sell!

Screenshot-101

So we’re straight on to the expensive fishing book, as recommended by the DeCasim family who made most of their millions from harvesting these babies.  Ama is harvesting our first crop here, but Abe isn’t a gardener and he fed and harvested the next crop, so don’t wait until you have great gardeners to get in on the omni action – do it now!

Screenshot-41

As promised, Sindy and I have been working on the daredevil trait, and we now present to you our first batch of experimenting.  We still haven’t seen a magician in the park so we decided to go and impress some other service sims.  When talking to this repo man, Sindy used the special daredevil ‘watch this’ option.

Screenshot-42

She then ran over to Vita Alto and friend.

Screenshot-43

Vita looked scared, as well she might…

Screenshot-44

Sindy stamped her foot at her, then she SLAPPED her!

Screenshot-45

I didn’t manage to grab the moment itself but here’s a nice shot of Vita’s head spinning.

Screenshot-48

I found this all rather hilarious and so made Sindy declare Vita a nemesis.  Of course she immediately rolled to become Vita’s friend because she’s a guitarist with the friendly trait so she likes everyone.  But no, I like the idea of Sindy being a wannabe badass with a nemesis so they can stay that way.

She didn’t get to run back to the repo man and boast of her awesomeness, though she did get a funky ‘adrenaline rush’ moodlet.

Whilst this is a fun moment, it could also be a disaster – I don’t want my sims randomly slapping up townies, especially if they end up going for their friends, family or potential spouses.  So use sparingly.

Screenshot-91

The next service sim we experimented with ‘watch this’ on was a firefighter lady.  This time, Sindy picked up dirt from the ground and ate it.

Screenshot-90

Yeah, not sure this will be bagging us a firefighter spouse.

Screenshot-71

In another family I’m playing, there is a daredevil and he’s always wanting to play with fire, so I reluctantly bought us a fireplace.  I hate fire in this game: I have lost many sims to it in various families I’ve played.  Unfortunately this lot have to have every fireplace in the game so I am anticipating a few premature deaths.  We bought the cheapest fire and there wasn’t a special daredevil icon next to ‘play with fire’ which I am sure the other family’s daredevil got – but they do have a much nicer fireplace.

Screenshot-72

Of course, no good can come of a fire (Sindy didn’t even get a nice moodlet; again this might be because of the cheapo fireplace).

Screenshot-74

I was rather impressed that Sindy autonomously extinguished it, though.  Presumably that’s one vaguely useful thing daredevils can do – and it might be very useful in this family.  I’ve heard brave sims do this but didn’t know daredevils did.

Screenshot-57

There may be more daredevil interactions than we’v found yet but so far the only other thing I’ve noticed is they do things to the extreme ‘Practice extreme speech’, ‘Take extreme shower until extremely clean’ etc.  Here, Sindy is having an extreme nap.  They could at least have added some funky animations to this to make it seem more interesting than a normal nap (which is what it is).

The daredevil trait, then.  So far, it’s vaguely amusing, but seems to only be useful in a fire.  Hmmm.  We’ll let you know if we discover any more about it.

Next time: We have our first party!  And there’ll be some other cool experimenting stuff, probably involving fishing, but I’ve not played that far ahead yet…


Responses

  1. Eating dirt. Funny to me! (Well, not in person, of course. You know what I mean.) This is so much fun, seeing all this stuff I’ve never tried.

    HEY good job on that Omni – by the time I’d realized it was there, the DeCasims already had their own. It seems very useful. I hope it won’t die on you! Guessing it won’t, since it’s on a community lot?

    • Well, I’m hoping the same thing… Obviously I want us to have our own omni plantation but this will do in the meantime and in any periods where we don’t have our own.

      It’s fun to me too trying out all these interactions and things I would never have bothered with otherwise. The Kyotis didn’t even have all of the traits between them despite me playing random rolling, and they certainly didn’t get to waste time using the silly ones; I just generally ignored anything that didn’t bring us obvious LTH, relationship or skills benefits.

  2. I’m pretty sure that Omni doesn’t die. I’d actually forgotten it was there too Rad. Thanks for reminding me.
    I tend to go raid the neighbours gardens. Mr Koffi down by the beach has a ncie yard with peppers, and flame fruit and other rare or uncommon plants.
    Daredevil’s soemthing I never played around with either. I may ahve to now, it seems fun.

    • Good tip, thanks! I’m working my way round visiting the neighbours (have vowed to visit all of them every couple of gens so I can get to know the town a bit better) but haven’t found that house yet.

  3. Whee! Lil Sindy picks good targets, that’s for sure. Wonder why she didn’t get to go back and brag to the ol’ repo man?

    How about the McIrish girl for Thomas?

    • He’s having the paper girl! It has been decreed since… ooh, the last post. I am doing points for service sims and ghosts so I want to try and get as many of those as possible before I get more townies into the family. I think he would rather get with spawn of Bunch but he doesn’t get a say in the matter.

      I don’t know why Sindy wouldn’t go back to the repo man. Maybe he’d gone, I wasn’t paying attention to him, just her. Every time she’s done “watch this” since she’s just eaten dirt so I haven’t been able to test that one out again to see if she might run back to someone eventually.

  4. She slapped Vita Alto? That IS a little bit extreme. Love to hear more about the daredevil trait, as one of my legacy sims just rolled it and a warning of what to expect would be nice 😛

  5. LOL @ Sindy’s antics.. brilliant! Some good slap action is always fun, but I understand what you mean about future spouses etc.. lol

    Sindy kind of reminds me of Kelly Osbourne:D

  6. LOL at Sindy. Vita Alto of all people!
    There are several Sims with interesting little garden. The Wainwrights have only two plants, but one is a flamefruit bush…

  7. You probably already know this, but something about daredevils is that they take three hours to die in a fire instead of one. Hope I’ve been some help.

    • I did not know that. Interesting!

  8. Evil is also fun. You get options like “wash hands with evil soap” and “evil slumber” and other fun things. But what’s weird is I think you can have a friendly and evil sim. I don’t know though. Also, don’t give up on the “watch this” interaction, for it can have very funny outcomes. Try everything you can… 0_o

    • Yes, friendly and evil is possible. I love evil sims, especially that moodlet they get when anyone else is having a bad time.

      • Yeah, I think ‘mean spirited’ gets similar moodlets. But you don’t get the option to “wash hands with angry soap” so… evil is better by default.


Leave a comment

Categories